in Education by (55.8k points)
Name types of Design Patterns?

1 Answer

0 votes
by (55.8k points)
What is Gang of Four (GOF)?
In 1994, four authors Erich Gamma, Richard Helm, Ralph Johnson and John Vlissides published a book titled Design Patterns - Elements of Reusable Object-Oriented Software which initiated the concept of Design Pattern in Software development. These authors are collectively known as Gang of Four (GOF).

Name types of Design Patterns?
Design patterns can be classified in three categories: Creational, Structural and Behavioral patterns.

Creational Patterns - These design patterns provide a way to create objects while hiding the creation logic, rather than instantiating objects directly using new opreator. This gives program more flexibility in deciding which objects need to be created for a given use case.

Structural Patterns - These design patterns concern class and object composition. Concept of inheritance is used to compose interfaces and define ways to compose objects to obtain new functionalities.

Behavioral Patterns - These design patterns are specifically concerned with communication between objects.